A slight different approach to a build

So I’m considering building my first custom keyboard. Being a complete beginner, I’ve been looking into getting the GMMK Pro so as to make my first steps a bit easier. As I don’t really have any preferences when it comes to different switches, PCBs etc yet, I thought the flex of being able to swap different parts with relative ease might further spark my curiosity for custom keyboards.

Now here’s where my reason/approach for building begins to differ (I think) from the usual gamer/keen enthusiast: I’m currently taking on a Master’s degree in (irrelevant), and so want to build a keyboard that would please me both aesthetically and when it comes to pleasingly, thocky (?) sound. This is my main reason for choosing the GMMK Pro, as I would be able to swap parts as I’m progressing my degree, to find my preference in everything related to the typing experience.

So any recommendations, tips, tricks, experiences are welcome and appreciated.
Bare in mind that being located in Norway, I prefer the ISO standards, and am such limited to parts and accessories adapted for the Nordic market.

PS: earlier experience with keyboards limits to various gaming brands, and a Keychron k2 with blue switches.

3 Likes

Hello and welcome.

That’s a pretty sound approach u have in mind. But sadly ISO and Nordic keycaps can make this hobby hard and expensive so I would really do some investigating if you could do fine on a ANSI keyboard.
(I made the transition and I or rather my wallet would have liked if I did it sooner).

But If you live in or nere by Oslo I would go to the mekanisk.com shop to try out some switches and stuff.

Anyway, GMMK Pro and Keychron Q1 are two similar keebs were the Q1 gets the most praise but can be a little harder to get.
If you are open for a 65% the KBD67 Lite is a great option.

Are u open to order from Sweden and can use our keycaps u can find a bunch at maxgaming.se and kbnordic.se