Bluetooth on high end customs

I’m very new to the custom keyboard side of the mech keyboard experience, but I’ve noticed that bluetooth-capable keyboards seem very very rare on the higher end boards. Is that because the mk community generally dislike bluetooth?

Having the option to go bluetooth, and device swap, is quite enticing for me, since I’m frequently juggling between a personal PC and work PC and having two keyboards on one desk is not very aesthetically pleasing or optimal for space.

There’s a few kits and prebuilts I see with ‘dual mode’ but haven’t seen a high end build with that offering. I could just be not searching the right stuff or maybe bluetooth has fallen out of trends and I just got into the hobby at an unlucky moment.

3 Likes

This has to do with the construction of most high end customs, as they are made out of aluminum or other metals, Bluetooth signals do not propagate through cases well if at all. This could be solved by implementing a plastic signal band into the design, but would still result in diminished Bluetooth performance. This combined with the fact that many people use these high end customs for gaming, as well as the poor bluetooth support in QMK and VIA makes for a pretty difficult innovation path for case designers who would want to implement bluetooth, and due to the relative lack of interest in it over innovation in other areas of the case, (ei. mounting style, material, internal void space) designers most likely prioritize other keyboard elements, rather than bluetooth.

This is just my opinion and reasoning from what research I have done, I am not a high end customs designer obviously, but think I have some understanding of the issues that would stand in the way of implementing such a feature.

2 Likes