First PCB draft

So, I finally have a first draft of the PCB for the keyboard I want to make. I’ve put it on GitHub: GitHub - joelproko/keyboard_layout_jopr

A few questions:

• I’ve never done this before, so I expect there to be mistakes, but don’t hesitate to point them out. Like maybe it’s a bad idea to have the USB data lines so close to the edge?
  • The USB Multex has connections labeled 2 and 6, which aren’t connected. 2 because it was like that in the guide, 6 because it didn’t exist in the version of the footprint the guide maker used. What are they for and what do I do with them?
  • When I run Kicad’s design rules check, it complains something about an incorrect courtyard for the USB Multex, and about holes drilled too close to eachother for every single key footprint. Can I ignore these warnings? If not, how do I fix it?
  • There’s no pins left for the lock status LEDs (there’s one left, but it’s labeled AREF in the schematic, so I guess it’s special). Which controller would you recommend instead?
  • The data lines are not even that close to the edges, I you shouldn’t have problems here.
  • Pin 2 is the ID pin, used only in USB Host devices. Keyboards are not one of them, so the pin must be unconnected. The pins marked as 6 are for added mechanical stability of the connector, and they should be grounded.
  • Your design rules may be too strict, that’s why it gives you a lot of warnings. Double check each one of them and see if it is a reasonable warning or just a paranoid android strict rules that may be ignored.
  • You can rearrange your switch matrix to something more square-like. That’s because the closer to a square the matrix is, more switches the matrix can handle. This will make programming a little bit trickier, but should release more microcontroller’s pins for the LEDs.

As a final note, I recommend making a ground pour plane on your entire board, that will make your life easier.