[IC] Ortho/dox Blues: DSS/DSA keycaps with an Ortho/Ergo compatibility focus

Ortho/dox Blues Banner

Ortho/dox Blues
A DSS/DSA keycap set with an Ortho/Ergo compatibility focus

Important Links:

Potential Boardwalk Example

Introduction & Origins
This is my first-ever Interest Check, and I’m very new to this process. I’m a software developer from North Carolina, and I’m an amateur board game designer. After buying an Ergodox to replace my MS Ergo keyboard, I found myself going further and further down the mechanical keyboard rabbit hole.

Ortho/dox Blues itself began as a pun. I wanted to make a sculpted keycap set with high Ortho & Ergodox compatibility, and I knew I wanted to use some variation of the portmanteau “Orthodox” in the name. Initially, I began building a set using liturgical colors from the Eastern Orthodox church, but eventually I landed on a fairly simple blue gradient design.

Color samples in outdoor lightingColor samples in indoor lighting
Set color sample gradient, in outdoor and indoor lighting

About the Profile
I currently use DSS Dolch on my Ergodox, and I’ve grown to really love the texture and sculpting of DSS keycaps. I noticed that there were very few DSS group buys on this forum or on Reddit, so it seemed like a great new market to experiment with.

DSS keycaps are doubleshot ABS plastic, and they’re produced by Signature Plastics. DSS keycap tops are spherical and have a slightly rough texture, almost identical to DSA keycaps. Unlike DSA, DSS is a sculpted profile; the overall positioning and angle of each row in DSS is a bit closer to that of the OEM or Cherry profile.