Advices on how to make top-mount softer?

Hi,
I’m on my way designing a new keyboard, I wonder if there is anyways to make top-mount softer (errm… add some flex to it)

if you ask me “why don’t you try gasket mount?”, I did try it and failed, well… not a “miserable” failure, the board still works, though. The person who assembled the board told me “if you’re constrained by design and CNC-capability, why don’t you use a easier design, a top-mount is good too”, I think that’s true, I’m not a good designer.

now back to the top-mount board, here is my keyboard’s layout:

(just the basic layout, there are more options)

This is the plate, there are two styles: (difference in mounting tabs’s cuts)

if I use PC/POM materials for the plate, the mounting tabs should not break/snap, right? :thinking:
which style should I use?

Also, should I add spacers at the mounting posts?

the spacer could be copper column or rubber ring.

please tell me what you think. :smile:

5 Likes

I think that some form of burger mount could allow for slightly reduced feedback on the bottom out. in terms of flex, the best you could do on a top mount would be flex cuts in metal plates, and flex cuts in the pcb.

Theres also a thing called double quarter pounder with cheese mod, and tbh i probably got that wrong