Alternatives to JWick T1?

Hi there, I’m a total noob who has built a couple of boards. I recently built myself a Q1 with JWick T1s. I like the feel of the switches very much, they have the right amount of tactility for my use cases and they seem to come decently well lubed. But they have a couple of shortcomings, notably slightly more wobble than I would prefer, and being almost entirely black they don’t allow any RGB through at all (I’m not a total RGB hound but the underglow can be pleasant, right?)

So, I’d be grateful if anyone can suggest what other tactile switches are similar in force (55g-ish) or slightly heavier and have a more translucent housing. If this has been asked before then please point me at the relevant links. TIA.

I have used the variant in question.

It’s my understanding that JWICK T1s are budget versions of the official JWK/Durock T1.

I once had a number of smoky Durock T1s. They had tighter housings than JWICKS, producing less-wobble. I would recommend acquiring samples:

https://www.amazon.ca/T1-Translucent-Smokey-Mechanical-Keyboards/dp/B08J3YCNRX

You can also search for them on AliExpress as DUROCK T1. Choose the “Smokey” colour.

The Smoky T1s are semi-transparent, and do let some light through. I think they are the more classy version of the JWICK T1. However, T1s in general need user-lube, and I think the stock Durocks aren’t lubricated as much or as well as the JWICKS.

Another option is the U4T Thock Boba, which also comes with RGB tops:

They are less common, but you can find them in the U.S. and AliExpress sometimes. You may wish to contact Gazzew directly, as you might be able to order the exact parts you want.

The U4T Boba is similar in intensity to the T1 switch, but some find it to be ‘cleaner.’ It is one of the most popular tactiles, currently. An advantage of the Bobas in general is that they have tighter housings with less wobble than almost any other tactile.