Apex 9 Mini with lubed switches and stabs, prism keycaps, and band-aid modded

I’m very new to the mechanical keyboard community, though I’ve owned a couple keyboards in the past, this is my first mechanical keyboard. After some research I bought keycaps and a lubing kit from Amazon in my quest to make it sound like the keyboards in those Youtube videos. I think it turned out pretty well but I suppose I would just like to know what people with more experience than me think about this keyboard. (sorry for terrible picture I really don’t have a good camera)

4 Likes

Hello and welcome to KeebTalk - if you like the keeb, it’s a success!

This is a great place to ask around for tips to get the results you’re looking for - and what you’re looking for is really what it’s all about at the end of the day. I say at very minimum you got some practical tuning experience and now have a much better keyboard than you did when you started - all of which I’d call a good start, indeed.

If you find yourself with any questions now or later, you’re in the right place.

4 Likes

I want to dampen the spacebar sound a little bit more because it sort of sounds and feels like its slamming down, any tips?

1 Like

Definitely! There are a handful of things you can do to dampen a space bar. This isn’t an exhaustive list, but should be plenty to get you started:

• Keycap o-rings: if you don’t mind reduced travel, this is a really easy way to take the edge off of a harsh space bar; simply slip an o-ring around the center stem (and maybe the side ones depending on whether or not your stabilizers will accommodate them) and re-mount the cap. You can get a whole bag of these for pretty cheap and worse case, it’s just about the easiest to un-do mod out there.

• QMX clips: kind of like o-rings, but not. These clip-onto switches and similarly reduce travel - but unlike o-rings which only dampen the downstroke, these dampen the up-stroke, too.