Are these stock topre domes?

Hey there, I’m completely new to the Topre world, so forgive my ignorance, but are these stock domes?

I attended the NorCal meetup in Nov, and it was the first time I tried Topre. Someone had a norbatouch with bke heavies in it, and I loved them. I have been diving deep into the keebs, and decided I needed those in my life sometime. I caught a post someone made on /r/mm and scored a FC980C https://www.reddit.com/r/mechmarket/comments/aer43r/usca_h_modded_fc980ctype_heaven_artisans_w_paypal/

The /r/mm post says it has BKE lights, and I ordered and replaced what was there with BKE heavies already, but the pictured domes are what came off of it. As far as I can tell, these are stock Topre, not BKE lights… can I get a sanity check from someone else who knows better than me?

On a side note, lubing the sliders (they weren’t lubed as far as I can tell, just the spacebar stabilizer with something that had dried out, so likely not krytox) and installing the domes was super time consuming. I also removed the silence-x rings and put in the BKE housing sticker type. I once rebuilt a dell at101w I found at work, tuning the leafs individually, and lubing the switches with a brush and 3204, and that’s the only keyboard project I’ve had to date be as time consuming. This Topre modding thing is seriously time consuming business.

1 Like

Pretty sure they are stock domes, they come in sheets/pairs/threes/singles like that. The BKE domes only come as singles as far as I’m aware, both the Lights and the Ultra Lights that I’ve had came in packets like that anyway.

I guess that’s not as advertised, which isn’t great, but TBF you can’t really buy stock Topre domes separately so perhaps it’s better that way? Means you can give the stock experience a try if you feel like it. And you can buy the Lights from somewhere if you wish at a later date.