[Article, Verge] Designers Spend Months Making Custom Keycaps, Then the Counterfeits Arrive

Article from Verge here: Designers spend months making custom keycaps, then the counterfeits arrive - The Verge

I think it’s worth the morning read :slight_smile:

18 Likes

I am not a designer and but does it really take months to design keycaps set? Aren’t people doing this as their side projects?

1 Like

Yes and Yes.

Often a big part of the design process is color matching. The main reason it takes months at times, is because designers must wait for GMK (or whatever manufacturer they go with) to send them color samples of the plastic so they can verify they have the right color before moving to manufacturing. This back and forth as the color is matched perfectly can take time.

Obviously these people aren’t just twiddling their thumbs waiting for the mail, but usually are balancing their normal job, family, etc. For many designers, keyboards are part of their side projects

7 Likes

Wow, the author certainly knows his stuff. I can’t imagine someone outside of the community being interested enough to read through the whole article. It’s crazy how much this mechanical keyboard hobby has changed in the past few years!

The “clone” market is fascinating. I’m also curious how the landscape is changing with companies moving more and more toward in-stock items. I see both good and bad from it.

It’s great that designers can get their original products to the market quicker and reach more people at a lower price point. It’s worse because designs don’t go through any sort of interest check and lousy sets show up in stock… and sit in stock.

My favorite part of the hobby is watching ideas come to life, tracking them, helping to support the ones you love (in discussion forums and with my wallet), and finally having them become a reality.

There’s nothing close to that sort of satisfaction when buying an in-stock set that just popped up and is available by the hundreds.