Assembling a Mechanical Keyboard PCB Using Reflow

Hey all,

I noticed there were very few YouTube videos about PCB assembly for mechanical keyboards so I went ahead and made one covering my Alice-style board with hotswap sockets. This was a long time in the making, and I showed off some of the boards in the video last year. This is my first time working with recording equipment and video editing software, so constructive criticism is definitely appreciated!

15 Likes

I think this is great. This level of detail is often missing from many of my go to keeb channels and I have to look elsewhere for the how-to info.

I learned a lot from this as it never crossed my mind to design and build my own PCB. Again, you’ve provided the important info. Also, I’ve never heard of the reflow method so I learned something there too. Audio quality was good, commentary was clear, helpful and articulate, no stumbling over words. On the whole, it was easy and pleasant to watch. If you keep producing content like this, you’ll have a healthy YouTube channel in no time. You’ve got a new subscriber.

1 Like

13:37. Indeed. (and great video!)

1 Like

Hey, nice video! I actually am an electrical engineer, and you pretty much got everything about as good as you can doing it by hand. If you have the fab or assembly house do it they are going to have everything automated, the paste will be applied to the stencil in a machine, a machine will place the parts, and they will have a long oven with a conveyor belt through that actually ramps the temp to a specific profile through. One thing to keep in mind about getting springing to get it assembled is you can have them do only some of the parts (for example everything but the hot swaps). I commonly do this for prototyping, I’ll have the assembly house do all the SMT parts except maybe a few I want to play with the values or if there’s only one or two through hole parts since that’s a separate machine.

4 Likes