Bag lube, spraying springs, and paintbrush lubed stems vs. bag lubed stems

Sorry in advance for the crappy quality, I didn’t have a better camera available to use. I was using my phone to stream. I’ve never done this before.

The phone battery died before I finished, but this was only after I was almost done (assembling the switches) so if you are curious about bag lubing it’s covered in this video.

Opening the switches starts at about 15 minutes.

Lubing the bottom housings (paintbrush method) starts at 28 minutes.

I also lube my springs in an unusual way, which starts at about 58 minutes in.

If you just want to skip to the bag lubing part that’s about at 1 hour 13 minutes in

Now, for some comparison pics between the bag lubed stems I made in this video, and a paintbrush lubed stem.

On the left is the paintbrush-lubed stem, on the right is the bag-lubed stem. To better understand how the lube job will affect actual use, I put these stems into the housings and cycled them a few times before taking these pictures. As you can see, the coverage looks quite good, but not perfect, using bag lube method. You can see some small dry areas right next to the rails on the side of the stem. Does it matter though? Stay tuned, the answer lies below!

Here is another angle, again paintbrush-lubed is on the left, bag lubed is on the right. Coverage looks fine to me here.

This is the bag lubed stem. Focus is on the leg. You can see it’s greased.

Bag lubed stem again, focus on the side of the rail (far left part). You can see lube coverage looks fine, and you can see some lines where the lube might have been smeared due to contact with the switch housing. This looks good to me.

Another shot of the bag lubed stem, this time with the focus on the “post” of the stem. It looks to me like the coverage is fine here. I think contact with the switch housing has smeared some of the lube here so if the coverage wasn’t even before, it is now.