Carpenter Tau Wooden Mechanical Keyboard

Hi there!

I’m sharing my recent keyboard project and hopefully this sounds interesting or helpful to you. I’m a senior software engineer and a hobby keyboard builder. I built a prototype version of wooden keyboard and have used it for weeks:

The main two things I want to highlight:

• The case and keycap are made of wood, made in wood of your choice
  • It’s probably the first open source three mode (USB, BLE and 2.4GHz), zmk-compatible keyboard!

(I have researched on lower than BLE latency, open source 2.4GHz keyboard firmware and haven’t found any. Please let me know if it’s not the case)

The open source firmware, PCB and hardware 3D model for the keyboard and the 2.4GHz dongle will be release when campaign ends, even if the group buy doesn’t succeed.

If you’re interested in a wooden customizable keyboard, or the open source 3 mode keyboard hardware/firmware, please keep an eye on my project. You can find this keyboard from Carpenter Tau Keyboard. I’m also happy to answer any question and hear feedback here. Thank you!

6 Likes

This is really cool! I’ve always been interested by the idea of a wooden keyboard, and have taken note of various approaches over the years.

I like the classic design, broad functionality, and of course material choice.

One consideration for wood that I’m not sure can be overcome or not is the material’s tendency to warp over time and/or with changing humidity levels. I’m not a wood expert by any means, but I do imagine some woods and/or treatments are more resilient than others.

A minor suggestion, perhaps for an optional inclusion or even just a note somewhere - wood filler paste might be a good option for those keycap legends. It can potentially provide some contrast, but it will also help smooth-out the surface.

Are you using a wooden plate? I’ve been planning to have one made out of curiosity, and this seems like an ideal place for one :smiley:

1 Like