Dyeing pre-colored (grey) PBT caps?

Hi friends, does anyone here have experience dyeing already-colored PBT caps? I’ve been doing research and looks like most people dye white caps. I have some topre HiPros coming in the mail. They’re all grey and I want to dye at least some of them to a slightly different shade (maybe dark red or dark blue) and want to see how they’ve turned out in the past before I attempt.

2 Likes

Hi!

I have some experience with that.
Grey caps are no problem. The grey pbt just makes the resulting colour darker, depending on how dark the original grey is.
I tried that with orange and purple dye, on light grey, medium grey and red pbt caps.

I can’t however tell you how dark is too dark to yield nice results.
To give you an idea of what I mean with “light grey” and “medium grey”, you may take a look at the kbdfans nordic keycap sets. I tried both the dsa and the cherry set.

EDIT:

Just wondering, if you like I could post som pictures to show the outcome of my dyeing.

4 Likes

Hi 63N, i would love to see your dyes! I’m re-thinking dyeing grey ones tbh but would still love to see what you’ve done

In fact I ordered more dye a few days ago, for a new project.
If you can wait a little longer I’ll make some photos of the process, and upload them together with the older pictures.

2 Likes

of course! I won’t get my caps for a while so take your time!

Ok, let’s cook!

I’ll post several pictures throughout the day as the dyeing process goes along.

First, the caps, to give you an idea of their original colour.
The picture was taken with cold white light on a white piece of paper, with flash.
(Those are kbdfans DSA caps)

I use an old stainless steel pot for the dyeing solution.
Don’t use aluminium, as you would also dye the pot :wink:
I made myself a special glass “strainer”, just for caps-dyeing.
It’s cylindrical to make better use of the volume, thus needing less liquid.