ErgoDox EZ or 60% or Planck EZ?

Hi everyone,

my first post on this forum and I’m quite a newbie in the keyboards world ! :blush:

I’m a software developer; I’m thinking about a new desk setup and now is time for the keyboard. At the moment I use a Filco US qwerty keyboard most of the day. When I’m not at the desk I use the macbook pro keyboard.

At the beginning, I started looking at the ErgoDox EZ mainly because it seems really customizable, well built and highly appreciated by the community. I tend to use the keyboard as much as possible without switching back and forth with the mouse. So, I think it’s fantastic to me that I can easily customize the keys.

Now, I’m a bit scared by ErgoDox EZ mainly because it seems to be really different (and difficult at the beginning?) from the classic keyboard layout. I do not have any problem with the initial learning curve, but I’m concerned to be really slow when going back to my laptop keyboard.
I’ve understood that having a split keyboard seems good for the wrists and arms, but still a bit scared of loosing muscle memory for the macbook keyboard.

So I started looking at something less drastic like 60% or 40% keyboard. I like the idea of having all the keys really close and to be able to program the layers and combinations.
The main reason I’m looking at the Planck EZ is because I like the ergodox-ez (ZSA Technology?) brand, they seem to have a great support, warranty and a nice configurator.

My concern about the 40% (Planck EZ) is about being too small, that I have to always use combinations to get characters like “&#{}()/,” etc… and since it’s ortholinear, once learned I still could struggle when going back to a normal keyboard right?
The good part about the 40% (and maybe also the 60%?) is that they could help me limit the travel of the hands …

Maybe I’m not asking myself the right questions to better understand which keyboard to buy.

2 Likes