Favorite / most frequent keeb activities?

Of course we all type with our beloved input devices - but what is that typing in service of? What are you doing with your keeb(s) most often? What are you doing with your keeb(s) that’s the most fun? Maybe you’re an author or coder. Maybe you’re a champion of Quake or Osu. Let us know! I’ll start:

Most often: Probably a toss-up between customer service emails at work, journaling… and posts on this website. :upside_down_face:

Favorite: Lately, my favorite thing to do with my keeb is “play” Kind Words - a “game” about being genuinely wholesome. It’s an anonymized platform for giving and receiving things like advice, moral support, and music suggestions! I’m hard-pressed to find a keeb task more worthy that I also enjoy so much.

How about you folks?

5 Likes

I’m a UX developer, so most of my typing is in service of that; writing out a lot of HTML, CSS, and some JavaScript. But the other half of my work is testing and verifying functionality on that, which means using lots and lots of keys/macros that folks don’t think about so much (like how Page Up/Page Down behave, or the difference between hitting up/down in a dropdown vs shift+up/shift+down) to ensure usability for folks who use the internet all kinds of ways. I love it!

3 Likes

Bonus points for keeb work & play being one in the same - I believe you’ve got it figured out, my friend.

3 Likes

Emails, Cisco Team chats, and project management and engineering documentation consume most of my keyboard time. As iaman said, I as well love what I do and enjoy being able to use my job to put new builds and frankenswitch experiments through their ringer.

2 Likes