First build (part compatibility)

Hello everyone. I’ve recently become interested in the hobby and am ready to start my own build! I have done much research and tested many switches. I’ve decided that I want a to build a 75% board as I use arrow keys often at work. I’ve put together a spreadsheet of every part I plan to buy w/ anything else I might need. My budget sits around $500 including all the tools I will have to purchase (for the first time).

It seems there might be many outliers that I might not have thought about, in turn making my parts incompatible. I would appreciate a look and confirm that everything would work together and/or suggest where I can buy similar parts elsewhere at cheaper cost/better quality.

While this is my first build, any advice/constructive criticism is welcome.

Link to the spreadsheet:

1 Like

Paste the parts list into a new message; really interested in seeing this.

I’d recommend adding $5 to your “Other Parts/Tools” category for a solder sucker in case you mess up (or want to change a switch position).

It looks pretty good with seemingly everything you might need. :+1:

1 Like

Hey thanks! Good idea. When I solder the switches, is it possible that they might be slightly rotated even though they have board mount clips?

It is possible if there is some play, a small rotation can be noticable.
What kind of stabilizers does the kbd75 come with? some of the cheaper KDB ones can be questionable even when tuned well.

1 Like

Possibly but not likely, you can confirm by putting keycaps on before soldering to see if any switches need a nudge. The key thing is to make sure the switch is fully seated into the plate :slight_smile:

2 Likes