Have you tried ortholinear and how long did take?

I have been using ortholinear board for several years now. I personally found them super easy to get used to and didn’t sacrifice any speed at all when switching. Over time, I noticed that it’s much easier to find keys since they are symmetric on both sides of the board.

For those that have tried ortho, was this the same experience for you? I’m just curious if I’m one of of the few that finds the layout easier to acclimate to than staggered boards.

4 Likes

I’m waiting on a plank from drop to arrive.
I’m kind of scared that I will like it and make all my expensive keebs useless. :upside_down_face:

2 Likes

I tried for a few days and it didn’t seem too bad, but something just didn’t seem right, then I realized I had two :b: keys instead of ‘B’ and ‘N’ keys and my board had to be programmed with some sketchy shit from a google drive and I had wiped my pc so I didn’t have it anymore… I got a plank after that but was using it as a macropad, I should try using it as a real keyboard :thinking:

1 Like

I ended up selling all of my topre boards except for 2 of them when I realized ortho was more fun to type on. It’s still easy to switch between the 2, I just prefer my ortho layouts hands down.

4 Likes

I only own 1 ortho board. First few days was around 40wpm instead of 100. But I got up to 70 after a day or two of practice. The bottom row is the only thing that felt much different to me. I don’t use it much anymore. I’m in my 40s and I’ve never had pain issues related to my decades of keyboard/mouse habits. But ortho actually made my forearms sore. Probably just from a different position, but I didn’t like the sensation.

2 Likes

Interesting. I’m in my 40s as well but found that my forearms never get tired on ortho compared to staggered. To be fair, I switch to Colemak years ago and was Dvorak 10 years before that, so I haven’t type on standard QWERTY in at least 15 years.

2 Likes