Hello, i'm not a cookie, i promise

Hello, I’m acookienot, from Chile.

I’m new to mechanical keyboards, I have a Drop ENTR and I don’t even know if it’s any good, but I wanted to make it better, so I started researching on it, and I’ve gotten a bit obsessed… my only problem is my lack of money, I’ve been looking into how to build one a keyboard from scratch, and there’s a ton of cheap-ish options, I’m just really good at second-guessing myself… anyway, thought i’d try joining some kind of community where I could ask questions and read other people’s thoughts

So, nice to meet you all

8 Likes

Hello, and welcome! As for building a keyboard from scratch, you can either design a PCB (or find an existing design that is opensource) and have it fabricated by one of the mail order PCB makers. You’ll also want to design a plate and/or case to be laser cut either by an online service or a local shop if possible. Alternatively there is the handwired (or hand-wired or hand wire) approach which you’ll need a plate (and a case if you’re into that sort of thing), a microcontroller dev board (arduino pro micro, teensy 2.0, etc), and wire. Either approach will require switches, keycaps and diodes. This is just a summary and I’m no expert, but regardless of which way you decide to go there are plenty of knowledgeable folks here who can probably answer your questions. Golem is an excellent source of info on the matter of building your own keyboard.

1 Like

welcome to keebtalk!

Sorry, by “from scratch” I don’t mean literally making my own PCB and case, not yet at least, I don’t have the knowledge or tools, I just meant, picking the parts and putting it together myself instead of buying one assembled.

2 Likes

Ahoy! Glad to have you here, cookie or otherwise. You’ve come to a good place to ask questions - fire-away as they come up.