Henlo it's gwillad

Hey all,

I’m gwillad. I’m a software dev living in the US (but… uh… if you have any job opportunities elsewhere, lmk lol)

I’ve been into the keyboard community for a few months now. I, like many others, got my first nice keeb in May of this year. since then, I’ve dove headfirst into the community. I’ve been lurking here for a while now, but finally wanted to make an account to actually like… participate. I am gwillad on pretty much all platforms; github, twitch, reddit, geekhack &c. Feel free to reach out!

I like orthos and splits and 40s and HHKB boards and no arrow clusters. I usually prefer silent tactile switches. I am starting to discover the beauty of a good sounding linear as well. Currently I have been daily driving a Maja w/ 67g Zilents. I also often use a tfv2 w/ linears (I’m trying to find the right one at the moment before I commit to one full time). I’ve got a phoenix45 w/ bobas, and a preonic also w/ bobas. I’ve also got a handful of other boards that are mostly collecting dust - lily58, boardsource 4x12, 5x12, a dz60 w/ aliaz. I’ve also built a couple of 96% for my partner.

Anyway, I’m happy to join the community!

8 Likes

Howdy gwillad!

Prefering silent tactile switches? Possible a rare sight these days, but it’s great that it work with your style of typing and layouts.

Welcome to Keebtalk! What are you looking forward to next in keyboards?

haha yeah i figure as much - I usually have to explain that silent switches still have a sound to them. I don’t try to make them completely silent. There’s something very satisfying about it to me.

Thanks! I have an IMK corne coming (eventually) which is really exciting. And I have been kicking around the idea of a premium case for a preonic layout. just gotta learn how to design and model and do stress simulations and…

1 Like

Welcome! I really like silent tactiles as well! So great to be able to type while in a Zoom meeting without constantly muting your mic.