Hi everyone! I'm Rob from UT

Hello, my name is Rob, and I’m delighted I discovered this website. I work in the tech industry and occupy a decent portion of my day typing away at a keyboard. For the last twelve years I’ve used a number of Apple keyboards at work. I’ve never really have had a problem wielding them until recently. The redesigned keyboard for the latest touch bar laptops finally pushed me over the edge. I’ve always had an interest in mechanical keyboards but never could justify the cost of switching to one considering my jobs would provide me with a laptop and keyboard provided it was from Apple. After three months of trying to use the keyboard on the touch bar Mac I’ve given up. The first mechanical keyboard I purchased was the Razer Huntsman Mini. I’m assuming those with more experience could talk for hours about the disadvantages of this keyboard, but compared to what I was using before it’s like night and day. From the first day I fell in love with the sound and feel of the keyboard as I spent hours coding. I’m blown away at all the freedom you have to construct a keyboard that’s tailor made just for you. After watching a few YouTube build videos I knew I wanted to try my hand at making my own keyboard. In the upcoming months I hope to learn and develop the needed skills to accomplish my goal of creating a keyboard that I can be proud that was built by me.

9 Likes

Welcome! I think you’ll have fun here, and learn a lot while you’re at it.

Razer is a favorite target of keeb snobbery, but I think their responsiveness to feedback is quite commendable. I’m also delighted to see innovation from them in the form the opto-mechanical switches that come with the Huntsman.

My first mechanical keeb was a ~$30 rando TKL from Amazon, and at the time, it was the best keyboard I’d ever used in my adult life - and I still like it. Since then, I’ve been happily falling down the rabbit-hole with no signs of reaching terminal velocity any time soon… ha!