Hi, I'm Forrest Norvell

Hi! I’m Forrest. othiym23 is my handle pretty much everywhere, so googling will show you what else I’m into, more or less. I’m a software engineer who spends a lot of time on the internet, which is another way of saying that I’m a touch-typist who might as well have a US QWERTY layout hardwired into my genetic code by this point. I’ve been lurking here, /r/mech, and geekhack for a while and decided I should introduce myself.

When I was a kid, my mom had a Selectric that I loved. I got a hand-me-down Kaypro II from my grandfather with its clanky milspec keyboard. Later, when I got my first Mac, it came with an Apple Extended Keyboard, which I think more or less defined how keys should feel to me (I did a lot of writing with that keyboard). I think I was doomed to being very particular about keyboards from the get-go.

My first ergo / mechanical keyboard was a Kinesis Advantage that I must have gotten nearly 20 year ago. Sometime back around 2004 I picked up a Matias Ergo Pro (the original) to have a version of my AEK that spoke USB. My first “modern mech” was a WASD CODE (the original tenkeyless design) I got about five years ago.

I go through minor collector manias (previous iterations: 1st edition D&D stuff, HP calculators, various portable gaming consoles), and recently I got way more obsessive about keyboards. My current stable includes the above as well as:

• an Ergodox EZ with Zilent 67gs and cheap (but cute) rainbow Tai Hao pastel caps
  • a Cooler Master Master Keys S PBT with stock caps Cherry MX browns
  • a Uniqey C70 with GMK ABS caps and QMX-clip silenced MX Clears
  • a gray-on-gray Leopold FC660C

The number of group buys and Kickstarters I’ve funded for keyboards over the last few months is kind of embarrassing, so I won’t enumerate them here, but the one I’m most looking forward to is the Kumo 40% kit.