Hi! I'm PHØ

Hi Hi,

I am new to the whole MK stuff. I want to build my own from scratch and looking for inspirations, tools and a cool community :slight_smile:

cheers
PHØ

7 Likes

Welcome!

Do you like Pho? If so, which is your favorite?

Do you mean the soup? PHØ is just an acronym of my real Name :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Yup the soup lol

Also, what’s your favorite keyboard so far?

1 Like

Welcome! Don’t hesitate to ask any questions :slight_smile:

1 Like

I don´t have much experience with mechanical keyboards. I want to build my own keyboard from the scratch since a long time. Not long ago I met an old friend and talk with him about mechanical keyboards an he have his own diy keyboard! I played around with the keyboard and I was lost :smiley:
Now I need more informations about keyboards, switches, caps to start building my own.

btw this was the keyboard:

4 Likes

you can be sure of that. I have many questions :smiley:

Glad to have ya around here! Hopefully you learn a lot.

1 Like

Thanks. I think I will :slight_smile:

Hi,

Welcome to the hobby with the most rabbit-holes in one hobby. :wink:

So here are a few (hopefully helpful) links for you (and of course also others :wink:):

• Matt3o’s online book on building your own keyboard — helped me a lot to understand how the key matrix works and how the controller checks which key is pressed.
  • The online Keyboard Layout Editor (short “KLE”), useful for many kinds of jobs:
    • Create your own layout for later generating the according plate files with the online Plate & Case Builder
    • Create keycap designs and either generate simple pictures of them directly there or for better quality renders by e.g. KLE Render.
    • Or just visualize layout ideas or show your different layers to your friends or generate a picture of them to print out and pin it beside your computer (in case of e.g. 40% or 30% keyboards with tons of unlabelled layers :wink:)