Hi KeebTalk! I'm Xeryn

Hello everyone! I’m Anthony (go by Xeryn on most of platforms and games).

I’m a software engineer based in Canada and I’ve been a huge admirer of the hobby for the last 2-3 years. I started out with some pre built boards such as WASD and Varmilo and eventually dove into customs earlier this year. This hobby has grown on me so much that I’ve helped a couple friends build their first custom mechs!

Random things I like for my keebs:

• I generally prefer tactiles but enjoy a heavier linear
  • Hoping to get into silents, trying keep it quiet at the office.
  • Love southpaw boards (wish there was more)
  • Current fave layout are TKL

Excited to meet more fellow keyboard enthusiast and share some beautiful builds.

9 Likes

Greetings and welcome! Glad to have you here.

I love me some silent switches, and these days there are plenty of good ones available.

2 Likes

Thank you! I have some Gazzew Bobas coming so I’m excited to try those

1 Like

Welcome! I feel like silent linears are just going to gradually take over.

1 Like

imo silent tactiles are nice and have their uses but good linears like tealios or inks are just better than their silent variants, and lubed and filmed with lots of foam don’t even make that much noise

2 Likes

So, continuing our fun digression from welcoming Xeryn and with the qualification that this rant is pure opinion…

I feel like it’s basically the difference between having shoes with wood (clicky) or leather bottoms and maybe a rubber sole (dampened regular switches) vs. full rubber-bottomed sneakers (silent switches).

Some like the style and even enjoy the clack clack or bit of soft tapping a good pair of boots makes when you walk, no doubt. Still, I feel most people prefer super quiet, softer sneakers for practical daily use.