Hi there, my name is Tippo and i am designing keyboards

Hi everyone, a short introduction of me. I am Tippo from Germany, and I am currently studying engineering. I designed my first keyboard for myself some time ago and had so much fun doing it that i decided to try my luck as a professional keyboard designer. I hope i can contribute some nice keyboards to the community in the future.

15 Likes

Welcome to KeebTalk!

The image in your post makes me wonder if LED lights from under PCB can be easily changed to recreate the illusion of floating keyboard in RL.

2 Likes

Grüß dich - and welcome!

That’s a very cool keyboard design. Always glad to have more creative folks here.

2 Likes

Hey @Tippo_SL, welcome! I saw you IC for the Hover over on GH last night, pretty cool stuff! Glad to see you over here, I think you’ll find KT much more easy going than GH. Although GH is still absolutely the place to put your ICs & GB posts.

2 Likes

Ha. I didn’t realize the hover effect was actually a feature of the board and not a marketing CG. I see what Tippo did w/reduced bottom size and placement of LEDs. I was thinking of doing it differently but I think this works better. Very cool.

3 Likes

Thank you for the nice feedback. I really appreciate it. It’s good to hear some nice words about it.

3 Likes

Very cool board. You got any plans on producing it later or just a personal piece you wanted to share? Also does it have a name?

2 Likes

Actually I did some prototyping and plan to make a gb run in the future.
Here are some pictures of the prototypes.

Edit: I called it Hover TKL because of the effect it creates with the lighting.

9 Likes

For some reason, I’m getting a little bit of land speeder vibes with the hover effect :smiley:

I’m excited to see what you have cooking up in keyboards!

6 Likes

Initially I was going more for a BTTF hoverboard inspiration but wasn’t too comfortable with the pink and one side to be rounded an the other square.