Hotswap 60% PCB with arrow keys support

It appears that my quest came to a successful conclusion. I am about to close a deal for a Piggy 60. The only thing that holds me back is the lack of arrow keys. Now, I know that 60% means some sacrifices, but arrow keys are really essential for me. So, I would like to ask you if there is any hotswap PCB compatible with Piggy that supports arrow keys. If there is, where from can I buy it? EU vendors will be preferred. Thank you all in advance.

1 Like

Off the top of my head I can’t think of any 60% PCBs that come with a JST connection & have a layout option with arrows. You’ll also need to get a custom plate made for that as I dont think the Piggy’s plate allows for arrows. If you’re willing to go with a solder PCB I’m pretty sure you can find a 60% PCB that has the spots for JST pins. Youd just need to desolder the USB port & solder on the pins for the JST connector.

I am afraid I have zero experience with soldiering a d zero confidence that I can make it

1 Like

Now, I know in some sense this is completely disregarding your stated criteria, so I apologize if you’ve considered and rejected it, but the Piggy PCB in particular has a fairly nice setup of R-Shift and right-side modifiers to make a pleasant inverted T arrow cluster if you don’t use HHKB blockers on your case. The key to the right of R-Shift could be a toggling layer key (maybe via double-tap if you need it for other “Fn” layer stuff).

3 Likes

This guy s how I personally set up all my 60% to have arrows as well. I really enjoy it. It keeps nice symmetry while still giving me the functionality I need.

1 Like

Ok, i might have some old DZ60/GH60 PCBs at home that allow for that layout & can be converted to use JST. I’ll check when I get in from work today. If I do I’d be willing to fix one up for you if you wanted. Alternatively you can do the keymap other people have chimed in about.