How to design a keyboard kit

Hey everyone. I’m a 13 yr old trying to make some money over the summer by selling keeb kits. I’m honestly a total noob at 3d modeling and rendering and was wondering if one of you who has done something like this before could point me in the right direction on how to use Blender to create a 3d model of it and how to render it once finished. Thanks in advance and have an above average day.

1 Like

I think you are greatly underestimating the logistic challenge of making such kits. People spend decades on this, and still make costly mistakes.

2 Likes

Certainly not a simple task, but then again, things worth pursuing seldom are. :slight_smile: I would start by searching for YouTube videos on how to model and render a keyboard in Blender.

over summer. This year.

How does a 13 year old …

@10centNickle there is better ways to make money kid. Newspapers, mowing lawns, Babysitting.
I mean even the legality of making deals with someone your age are questionable.

You’re trying to hit too many targets: Blender and keyboard design. Number of board members with expertise in both areas are very tiny. Repost your question at largest Blender communities friendly to noobs. Meanwhile, search YouTube for Blender-related videos.

Don’t worry about the long road ahead. Just take one step at a time and learn to enjoy the journey. Even if you stop at any point and give up, you’ll find yourself ahead.

3 Likes

Maybe 3d-printing is a good place to start with. :thinking:

I think that starting from zero knowledge to a sellable product this summer does not look very realistic :wink:

At the same time, if you are motivated enough, you could start to learn how to make your own custom.
As @skepp said 3d printing is a good starting point, and some custom keyboards that are sold are 3d printed like Keyboardbelle did.
Another way is to make acrylic stacked boards, one very known designer @qlavier is using this technique.