Looking for resources to help learn how to create PCBs

I’m interested in learning how to make my own PCB, but I don’t know where to start. I have no engineering background, but I’ve very quick to learn pretty much any software.

Does anyone know of any guides/resources to help me get started?

It would just be for a personal project, as I have no interest in running a GB currently.

Pointers?

1 Like

I was curious a couple months back and came across this

Super helpful and detailed.

One note - while the libraries mentioned have a ton of pre-made part references they’re pretty general, if you needed a specific footprint, you might have to make it yourself; not hard, just extra time needed.

Once you get to the firmware, if you wanna prototype and figure out your switch matrix, it’s pretty simple to get an Arduino up and running with QMK.

1 Like

Thanks! I’ll read up.

I’ve found this the day before yesterday: PCB Guide Part 1 - Pre... | Keyboard Designer Wiki @ ai03.me
It’s apparently intended as an updated replacement for ruiqimao’s guide sortofsleepy mentioned.
I’ve finished designing a large PCB based on it literally minutes ago (though I can’t tell yet if I did an acceptable job - I plan on posting it here and getting feedback; but first I need to finally catch some sleep).

2 Likes

I think you are getting yourself ahead of things. I’d recommend to you to learn the basics of electronics first, then learning how to make PCBs. Things from Ohm’s Law to Boolean Algebra to understand basic digital electronics.

It’s not very difficult, although there is some maths required. And you can progress at your own pace. A good first PCB to make (in fact, it was the first I have ever made, 25 years ago) is an astable multivibrator, as it is quite simple to make. Just use the same values as recommended on this article I just googled, but there are tons of them for you to read. For NPN transistors, you can use a BC547 or a 2N2222.

EDIT: grammar. English is hard.

1 Like