Looking for the right medium tactile with pre-travel, like a U4t with brown stem

Greetings. I am pretty new to the world of keyboards so I don’t have much switch experience, just with mx silents, Gateron browns and Boba U4t’s. I find the U4t’s too tactile and loud for my taste, so I tried Gateron brown stems in the Boba housing with some 205g0, and the result is amazing. Super smooth and relaxing to press, but with a nice snappy tactile bump with a little pre-travel before it. Less tactile than stock Boba’s, but night and day compared to Gat browns. It also sounds great, much deeper than stock U4t. I used to not care about keyboard sound, but these frankenswitches changed my mind.

These switches are perfect for me, but the problem is very few Gateron brown stems fit properly in Boba U4t top housings. Only about 40% of my 87 brown stems work, and there is noticeable inconsistency between these custom switches. I just bought 120 new Gat browns to pick out the stems that work, but out of the 20 or so I tried from the new batch literally zero fit at all, tighter than even the worst of my original browns.

So now I’m in search for a switch just like this frankenswitch of mine. A medium tactile with 0.5 - 1mm of pre travel, deep sound and no return issues. Preferably without leaf ping, I can fix spring ping with lube. I found a few switches that seem like they may fit the bill, and I’m interested to hear your experience with them. Durock cerulean (will tint LED’s blue), Zealio V1 Redux (doesn’t seem LED compatible), and Kinetic Labs Penguins(sold out, may have return issues). There are many options but I’ve narrowed it down to those three, despite my concerns with them. Let me know if I missed some good switches.

2 Likes