Mini Seriko Switch Review

Got my Seriko switches in the mail today. I should note that I own several different JWK produced switches, but this is my first time to try a silent linear. These could be similar to silent alpacas, but I’ve only every tried the standard version. Tacit switches were my first silent yet tactile JWK switch. Everything else I own is linear. These are my observations from a few hours with the switches:

Pros:

• Low wobble
  • Fairly smooth (except when pressed off-center, but I discuss this more below)
  • Very quiet
  • They look cool :sunglasses:

Cons:

• Slight stick at the top from the silencing mechanism on the stem. It’s extremely subtle, but present.
  • There is something different about the molds used here. The tops are hard to remove… I’ve never seen that in a JWK switch. Interestingly, the switches still benefit from filming. If you type on them unfilmed, you will get a small plastic creak every now and then from the tops.
  • These tighter tops cause the stem to bind on off-center presses. Lubing helps some, but it’s still present in extreme edge presses.

I suggest:

• Spring swapping to a lighter spring. They are supposed to be 67g springs, but I find the combination of that weight with the slight stick and binding to be too heavy. I swapped to a 65g TX spring which is noticeably lighter.

• Lube them, focusing on the sides where the silencing rubber is. A thin amount of lube on those parts gets rid of that stick at the top.

• Film them. You can get away without filming them if you aren’t too picky about a stray noise here and there, but I will be adding films to mine.