My first mechanical keyboard

I just got a Mac mini M1 recently and I do not like the Apple Magic Keyboard as well as the Magic Mouse. I started looking for a bluetooth keyboard for it and couldn’t find any I liked. I had been using Logitech K360 previously for a few years. I wanted to go with bluetooth to free up usb ports since you get a limited number on this. So I searched a long while and found to get the keyboard I wanted I needed to go with mechanical. I like the higher profile of mechanical fine since that is what I grew up on since Commodore 64 and PC days.

I went with the RK987 alogn with Dolch PBT double inject keycap set. $50 for keyboard and $25 for keycaps – both off Amazon.

I am liking the way it looks. The monochrome gray of keyboard to me matches the silver and black mini well. I also have a black framed 4K TV I am using for the monitor as you see a black bluetooth mouse. I am getting NEXT comptuer vibes from this keyboard since it is mechanical and is monochrome… The original NEXT computer had a grayscale monitor. I might make the escape key a NEXT logo in color … like the logo on the NEXT cube . (Mac OS is based off of NEXT OS… both created by Jobs).

I still need to customize the function row with custom sub-legends alogn wit hthe ScrLk and Pause keys. I ahve PrtScr assigned to screeshot. F1 is Launchpad, F2 is Show Desktop, F3 is App Widnows (expose), F4 is mission control (expose), F5 is Notification Center. Pause (F15) is Emoji & Symbols dialogue.

17 Likes

Steve Jobs NEXT Cube :slight_smile: The world wide web was built on this thing, and Mac OS X and Mac OS 11 is based off of it.

7 Likes

Messing around with some stickers. I printed on my color printer with high drum heat on some nice paper – so the toner can’t flake. I adhered double sided tape to the bottom of the printout. Then used a leather punch to punch out the circular stickers. I then stuck to the front of the keys.