My intro

Hi everyone. I appreciate the response I received yesterday. Thank you. Here’s a formal intro.

My name is Peter. I’m a software engineer (mostly c++ but a bit of everything). I’ve been doing this professionally since the mid nineties (and really ever since I was a kid with gwbasic on my pcjr and my dad’s XT). I’m here for different reasons than most (hopefully all) of you. I have serious health issues. The tldr is spinal cord damage and a very bad right side. I’m not in a wheelchair (brace/cane) but it’s not good.

I type and mouse almost entirely lefty (even though I’m right handed). It is fatiguing to sit at a desk for long stretches. Something has to give soon.

So I have decided to start working from a recliner instead of a desk. The first thing I needed was a 1H keyboard that can work on a recliner arm. I explored a ton of commercial options, but none were quite what I was looking for, but stumbled on the MK scene. THAT was what I was looking for.

I’m here out of need now, but this hobby is really right up my alley. Other than PC building I stink at hardware but enjoy fiddling anyway. I don’t keep one anymore, but I used to control my saltwater aquarium with an arduino. I use Pi’s now to help with home automation. If I can muddle through the hardware and get to the code I can fly.

My current daily KB is a logitech G413 carbon, but it’s time for a change (and hopefully less wobbly and mushy switches).

9 Likes

Welcome! I’m optimistic that you’ll be able to build something that will work for your use case - and looking forward to hearing about the result.

I recently started tinkering with Home Assistant - man, what a rabbit hole. Much like this hobby.

3 Likes

I’m optimistic too. I have more ideas than skills at the moment, but I think what I want is unique but doable from my reading. I’m going to start with something basic and stop gappy while working on a breadboard for the hard stuff. At least that’s the plan today…