Nagging DIY Questions

Hey everyone, I’m an amateur DIY enthusiast. I’ve started to gain a little confidence in my abilities but I always make it a point to stay humble and seek advice. I’m a software developer professionally so the firmware side of things has been easier to acclimate to, but the more hardware engineering aspects of the hobby are still something I’m gaining my footing with. I wanted to stop in and ask a couple questions that have been nagging at me so I can better orient my next projects.

1. Is there a distinct advantage or long term stability gain in a PCB over a hand wired matrix + controller? I see a lot of people refer to hand wiring as a good way to prototype. Since that gets repeated so often, it makes me feel as though a hand wired matrix isn’t a finished product but just an iteration of a concept.

2. What is the ideal wire gauge when doing a hand wired matrix? I spend entirely too much time stressing over the small details. Most recently, its been wire gauge. I’d been planning to do a hand wired build with a Postage Board that LifeIsOnTheWire is running a group buy for and using 30AWG magnet wire for the matrix. Its easy to assume a small wire gauge will be entirely fine based on the size of PCB traces, but assumptions based on so little information rarely end well.

3. What screw sizes do you prefer? This is more just curiosity than anything. I see some people using M3’s for corner screws on sandwich cases, I see others using M2.5’s, most people seem to be all in on M2’s for all things. I figure it comes down to availability more than anything else.

4. What plate material and thickness do you prefer? I recently did a pretty thick plated acrylic build that was a good learning experience, probably going for an aluminum 1.5mm plate next for a more travel friendly board. I’m always curious to see what material people go by for plates since they change the sound and feel a fair amount.

Thanks for any answers in advance!

1 Like