Need help fixing lifted pads Hotswap socket

Hello, can anyone advise me on where I should run a wire to fix my kb? (Pls draw a line with MS Paint,) so I can understand better

Thank You so much for your assistance

1 Like

I’m not an expert, but I’ve fixed lots of screw-ups. This is how I would go about it:

First, you need to get the hotswap socket back in place. The arm on the right can be reattached. Add some solder to the pad on the board and add some to the metal portion of the arm. If you have flux, apply some to the pad as well. Flip it over and put back into place by applying heat to the metal portion. Only 2-5 seconds at a time. You don’t want to melt anything. But right before you do that, you should probably apply some super glue to the ripped off pad on the left. That way you can reglue and resolder in 1 step.

The difficult part comes next. You want to attach a small wire from the ripped off hotswap arm to the diode of the switch. I say it’s difficult b/c I don’t understand this keyboard diode arrangement at all. But I THINK it’s probably going to be one of the pads I circled in pink (you’ll have to open the full size image to see this, perhaps). You can test by holding some tweezers to bridge that connection while depressing a switch inserted to your newly reattached hotswap socket. This can be a task with only two hands. In the past, I have taped the switch stem down so that it stays pressed while I try to use the tweezers on the back. I believe that is a diode that is being shared by two switches. I’ve seen a few like this. Most keyboards used to use 1 diode per switch, but this design saves time and money. But if you don’t get a keypress on either of those two tiny pads coming off that diode, you could try the one above and to the left of your key labeled RX10 (probably the bottom pad, but could be the top)

You won’t hurt anything by bridging a connection between the metal hotswap arm and those diode pads, so probe away.

2 Likes