Nick's build logs and reviews

Hey everyone @dwarflemur (Nick) here. I’ve got a lot of keyboards and I’ve built a bunch of them, so I figured why should we let @jshufelt have all the fun; I’m gonna do some build logs too. At this point I think I’ve put together >10 keyboards, and I don’t really want to count, so I’m just going to call my first log here build N and increment from there. Quick about me before we get started, I’m an electrical engineer in the bay area, I make electronics by day, and play with keyboards by night. Someday I’ll finish my keyboard, expect to see it in like 2021. One thing I gotta note before we get going is I have really terrible lighting at my computer where I do my builds, so my pictures won’t be super accurate as far as color goes.

Okay, so let’s go, Build N: Lubrigante Hamboard.

This lubrigante is from the group buy from @homerow. I actually got two of these bad boys, one for me and one for my girlfriend, but we’re going to start with the first one, which was the red color. I was really into the red, and decided to go all in on the red theme.

So here it is in the packaging. No issues with the packaging, lots of bubble wrap, no chances of damage.

The layers all came with protective film on them (I got excited and took one off before taking a pic). The PCB came in an ESD bag and was also wrapped in bubble wrap.

Everything unpacked and unwrapped. Not pictured: bump on feet and screws and standoffs; we’ll get to those later.

Stabs go first. I like Christo-Lube, so that’s what I put.

Stabs on the board. It doesn’t support in switch LEDs, so there was no need to worry about the screws shorting anything. Can you see the issue with this pic? We’ll get to it in the next one.