Olivetti Praxis 48

First and foremost here are some gorgeous pictures of this thing by Mass Made Soul

I wanted to make an appreciation / discussion thread of the absolutely gorgeous design of this typewriter. I’ve been around for a while and I feel like the Praxis 48 is never talked about and it’s such a cool and inspiring piece.

There’s so many interesting design motifs that I feel like could make such a good looking board.

Like the keycaps alone make it so striking. Probably wouldn’t be the best to type on, but the double shot green tops give it such a unique look and the matching accents on the knob and release mechanism are so much fun. This is originally why I fell in love with this thing.

I feel like with rotary encoders being a big trend right now, a keycap set that comes with a matching knob would be a fun idea.

Other points in bullet points cuz I’m a bad writer and it’s really late:

• The space bar being integrated into the chassis is so slick even if it’d a terrible design for a keyboard.
  • The texture on the side of the main body transitioning into the smooth plastic of the cantilevered keyboard gives it such an interesting side profile and really makes the body look so sturdy and ready to be used as a tool
  • The little Italian flag accent on what I assume is the power button is a cute touch.
3 Likes

Wild, almost architectural design! The keycaps are indeed iconic, with every key having a stepped profile. The Apple IIc might owe some of its design to this machine.

2 Likes

Oh wow, I never noticed how the slight overhang on the IIc keyboard does such a good job at making it look like it’s floating

Weird that the space bar is on a different level than every other key.

You:

The keycap set your girlfriend tells you not to worry about