Photoshoot tutorials

Macro photos with the iPhone 8 are really harsh. It seem to just highlight all the crap and it’s hard to make it look like the actual key. Has anyone posted tutorials for keycaps photoshoots ?

I’m trying to get good result photographing stone keycaps.

2 Likes

This is a great idea. I don’t think I’m an expert on it but maybe I’ll find some time to give my insights into photographing objects. I’d love to see somebody like ChrisSwires do a write up as I actually find his shots to be very consistent and high quality!

Here is one I took with the camera on my iphone X. Im not a pro or whatever but this looks pretty good (to me) for a smartphone camera close up shot. You have to remember most of the beautiful eye watering shots you see posted on Reddit etc are done with DSLRs, tripods etc.

I think when your using stuff like smartphone cameras you have to do what you can to compensate for what they lack eg. good positioning, good light, maybe a little edit after.

In the photo you posted it looks too dark, and the subject (your artisan) feels a little pushed to the side by the key underneath.

Again take or leave what I’m saying; I’m sure someone with more photography experience will chime in.

Afaik he just lets the sun shine onto his tables and then uses his google pixel to snap.

@ChrisSwires care to chime in?

The problem with smartphone photography is that it uses a lot of software to calculating lighting, metering, etc. That’s great for most photos, but when you’re shooting non-conventional stuff like keyboards (which has crazy color contrast) the camera goes crazy.

1 Like

More likely to get his attention if you tag him, like this:

Sup, @ChrisSwires