Question about old Cherry MX

Hello, i have a question about old cherry MX Brown switches from old G80, they have an electronic component in place of the LED, i’m a noob in electronic, can you say me what it is and why it’s here ?

Can i remove it if i want to use that switches on a modern DIY keyboard ?

A real big thanks for a stupid question :blush:

1 Like

That looks like a diode, used to have Nkey rollover. You can remove it.

3 Likes

A big thanks :slight_smile:

1 Like

Yep all old Cherry boards are wired like this. In fact I’m pretty sure the LED holes were designed for a diode, never got changed, then just happened to work for LEDs TBH.

3 Likes

Interesting, i also have a G80 with MX Black, more recent, no diode but just a metal U instead of the diode.

1 Like

These days it’s more common to use SMD diodes on the bottom of the PCB rather than through-hole diodes in the switches. But having a piece of metal in that spot to just bridge a connection sounds pretty odd.

2 Likes

Yeah I have seen that also on one of the broken Cherry 1800 TKC was selling. I’m not 100% sure what they are for though, if I’m remembering correctly the PCB had SMD diodes on it.

1 Like

I’ve seen it on a 11900. I’m fairly certain it’s to add another layer of durability on their more business-oriented boards, when compared to the G80.

3 Likes

My Dolch Pac60 keyboard has a wire in the switches like this. I think it’s just to add stability since it’s PCB mount.

3 Likes

I have made pics of some of the Cherry boards i have :slight_smile:

1) G80-3000 MX Black, no Diode but a "U"

2) G80-8200 MX Brown, Diode

3) G80-1800 MX Black, no Diode but a "U"

4) G80-11900 MX Black, no Diode but a "U"

For all the boards, no diode on the PCB… And we can see that the “U” are also used on the CPU, they are connected.

2 Likes

Wait, the metal bar IS connected?