Random question: seeking advice... any teachers here?

I’ve been a Music teacher on and off for close to 20 years. I taught Clarinet privately as well as at the University where I also lectured for a Music Appreciation course.

I haven’t taught lessons or lectured in over 7 years now after moving states for the real work. My wife’s work is the actual income, unlike a meager teacher’s salary.

But I’m stumped today.

Here’s the story: My son (age 12) is in his second year of playing cello in orchestra. He’s had private lessons for over a year but his teacher is moving and no longer available. I knew from the start that he would not be able to learn from me. It’s a father/son issue.

But I thought I would suck it up and give it a go today because he has a small recital in just 2 weeks.
Well, it was nothing but frustration from the start. A bit of progress but it ended with profanities and slamming doors.

How in the heck do you people do it? How do you teach your children complex concepts over long periods of time? It’s similar to a parent who teaches their child a sport I suppose. Has anyone ever had a parent as a coach?

Maybe it just takes time to learn how to deal with each other in a new setting?

Have you ever tried to help your kids with their homework and experienced frustration? Imagine if you knew all of the answers and how to get them and EVEN how to teach them… but still had the same frustrating outcome. It’s rough.

My father never offered/attempted to help me out in my studies, so I have nothing to fall back on other than my experience with other children and young adults. It seems like the main issue is trust and respect for the teacher. It happens much more naturally when you meet someone with credits to their name and pay them for a service. I think my son’s got the idea that “oh, here’s my old man who’s always on me about something.” :rofl: