Review: Hexgears X-1 (Cross-post on R/MK)

!

Forgive me, I’m a lousy photographer and I still have an Iphone 6. This is the review of the Hexgears X-1 I posted on reddit. I know that Keebtalk is mostly enthusiasts and customs builders, but I think this layout is nice and even if the first execution of this board wasn’t great, it bears some discussion. Anyway, my review:

After some deliberation (I passed up on the kickstarter), I ended up buying a Hexgears X-1 for work. I’m moving to a new office, and everyone is going to be “hot-desking”: meaning, I keep my stuff in a locker and choose a new seat every day. Kind of like a college library. Or writing a screenplay in a Starbucks. I needed a keyboard that fit the following criteria:

1. Fits in my locker (a full-size would be too long)

2. Portable (light, not too bulky)

3. Numpad: I work in excel often and using a numpad is easier AND There is no point in toting an extra board around the office if it doesn’t improve on my laptop board in some way in functionality

The bluetooth doesn’t even factor in because my work computer will not permit non-approved devices to connect via bluetooth.

It came down to 2 board for me:

• A Leopold FC980m (my ideal board, but a little too bulky to tote around the office…also, mechanicalkeyboards.com is already out of the silent switch variety that I wanted)

• Hexgears X-1

I had read about some of the issues people were having with the Hexgears stabilizers and the space bar, but I decided to roll the dice. The board came in a couple of days ago. I haven’t used it extensively yet, but so far, here are my thoughts:

Pros:

• The carrying case that comes with this board was a smart inclusion. For the price after the kickstarter, the addition of the case is good. I’m glad they considered how people will probably be using this product (i.e. as a travel board)

• This board is SLIM - but it still has flip-out feet, which already makes it more versatile than most chiclet keyboards