Skeleton Keys - My first mechanical keyboard

Hey Keebtalk community,

I’m brand new to the mechanical keyboard scene and can’t believe it’s taken me this long to actually start on making my first mechanical keyboard. I especially love that keyboards can be so much more than a simple tool, but moreso a beautiful work of art… or at least I think so :grinning:

So after digging around for some time around 6 months ago, I pulled the trigger and bought the Keychron K2. It’s a great board. I love that it can be connected via bluetooth, and also has a layout for Mac computers built in. In full transparency, I use a Mac probably 90% of the time for work.

Although it is awesome, there were a few things about the K2 that I wasn’t crazy about. Those are:

• The board is sooooo high off the desk that you need a wrist rest to even use the thing. Being familiar with the Mac design aesthetic, I wanted a keyboard that didn’t need this wrist boost.

• My board came with Brown switches. Awesome to start with, but after I started learning more, I realized there was a whole world out there! So I wanted a keyboard that I could swap switches out easily without soldering.

• The keycaps felt a bit cheap, so I wanted something better there too.

• I realized that I’m not an RGB fan-boy, lol. It’s cool, but I learned that I like artful design over flashy lighting. Just personal preferences.

• And I wanted something a bit… prettier. It’s a functional design, but after seeing some of the other custom stuff out there, I wanted something made with beautiful metals, and a clean design feel.