SoftwareDev: keyb. suggestions (Mechanical keyboard - major hassle? lube, etc)

Hi,

as a professional programmer I want to invest in a really good keyboard.
(Thusfar I’m using cheap rubberdome; but want something much better).

Requirements:

• good typing feeling
  • normal “high” keys (no low profile or notebook-type keys)
  • good quality (no fading of keycaps letters)
  • quiet
  • durable, long life
  • full size keyboard (preference: German Layout - “qwertz”)
  • wired
  • no hassle!

Optional requirements:

• no LED or backlighting (if I can only get a good keyboard with LED, them I’ll compromise)
  • no fancy stuff (again: willing to compromise, if necessary)

I’ve been eying the Ducky One 3 Matcha with MX brown (tactile) type switches.

But problem: I’m new to this mechanical keyboard stuff. Maybe I’m not ready for this:
Example: I’ve think I might need to lube the switches. That will take ages and is not something I’m planning on doing. Is this really necessary??

I’m beginning to feel like a mechanical keyboard might not be the best match. There seems to be so many unknowns for me:

• do I need to lube it?
  • damping rings?
  • will it be too loud? (I’m planning on using it in the office with my coworkers, and don’t want to annoy them)

Maybe a high quality rubberdome (or hybrid) keyboard would be better???
I’m thinking of the Steelseries Apex 3: since it seems to be a good quality, quiet rubberdome keyboard.

PS: there’s nice reviews available from rtings website (but I’m not planning on getting that ugly yellow Ducky One 3 that they tested, but the one called Matcha).

Do you have any suggestions for me?
Should I go with the Ducky One 3 Matcha? The Steelseries Apex 3?

Or something else?
Any suggestions and tips will be much appreciated!

Thank you.
Al

2 Likes
1 Like

So first, you really won’t need to lube any switches, and yes, having to do so is one of my least favorite parts of the hobby so I don’t, in general, bother with any of that.