Spacebar Sound Uneven

Hey’all! I’m completely new to all this and just finished my first build over the weekend. It’s the Blade65 from KBD Fans. I’m using KTT Roses and PBT Cherry Milkshake on top. To me the majority of keys sound good but I’m really unhappy about the spacebar.

The stabilizers I’ve put in are the ones that come with the board. As you hopefully can hear in the recording as well the spacebar sounds a bit too hollow, especially when I tap it lightly. To my ears its more noticeable on the right side of the bar vs. the left.

I wanted to get y’all’s opinion on it before I open that puppy up again. Do you think this can be helped with with better lubing or is there something else going on? I’ve used dielectric grease for the stabilizer wires and 205G0 for the housings and stems. They sounded a tad more hollow so I tuned it using a syringe and more 205G0 before I closed it up.

Your help is much appreciated :slight_smile:

Sounds rattly on both sides to be honest, right side is just more rattly than the other.

They also sound like you didn’t use any lube on them, are those the KBDFans PC transparent stabs?

My KBD67 Lite came with them, and while ticking is hard to get rid of with them, they don’t get this bad like in your video, and ideally your aim should be clean sound without any sort of rattle or tick.

Maybe try using more dielectric grease on them, try looking up one of the popular tutorial videos on YT to get an idea on the amount of lube you should apply.

1 Like

Thanks for your quick response @Cloud983 :slight_smile: Very much appreciated. Yeah I was trying to stick close to what Alexotos shows in his video “How to mod stabilizers”. But I deffo tried to stick to the advice of rather applying less and eventually adding more later on. I should have tested more before putting the whole keeb together. I just got to excited I guess ;D