The quest for the biggest scoop - Keycaps profile

After sound modding my Keychron Q2, I decided that it is time for me to change its original keycaps too.

I did quite of a research trying to find which keycap profile has the deepest scoop, but I can’t reach a definite conclusion. Is Mt3 or MG the keycaps with the deepest scoop? To be honest, I gravitate towards MG because of their looks, but I type for a living, so I would like to get the keys that best suit my needs, rather than those that look better on my keyboard.

Does anyone have experience with these two profiles? Also, is there another profile that I should consider too?

P.S.: I live in Europe, so it would be a bonus if the keycaps you suggest can be sourced easily and cheaply.

2 Likes

I think MG, or AFSA for that matter, have the bigger scoop. AFSA you can get plenty off Aliexpress.

Personally, I use AFSA daily on one of my keyboards. I have an MT3 set, but did not like it at all because of lack of inclination on the top row and more reasons.

3 Likes

When I rest my fingers on the keys then MT3 feels the deepest, because it’s got a tiny keytop so the slope down to the bottom is pretty steep.

MG is probably about as deep, but it has a larger keytop so feels less deep.

I think if you have a very good typing style then you will like MT3 and it will feel like every key is a little cup for your fingertips.

But if you have a poorer style, like me, you’ll find the MT3 keytop too small and the sculpt too extreme - when I’m typing on MT3 all I feel is the edges cutting into my fingers.

MG has a cheaper sibling AFSA (or Aifei SA) which has an identical keytop and sculpt, but is a couple of mm shorter. These are all over AliExpress and Amazon for very cheap, and would be my choice.

4 Likes