Website to find parts over multiple shops

Hey guys,

I’m quite new to building custom mechanical keyboards and now I think I know at least enough to build my first keyboard. I had a really hard time finding all required information which is cluttered around different forums, youtube, reddit etc.

Even more of a pain was getting all the parts together. I just discovered the thread which lists all the vendors. That’s really great! And now I’m just thinking about creating a website which basically lists most parts which are available (with some kind of nice search) on the market and directly displays a list with vendors who sell them and actually have them in stock. This would have helped me a lot when searching for switches, pcb’s, cases etc.

Would you guys see value in such a thing? Or would it be a waste of time? Maybe there is something already? I saw switches.mx, which is great. Think of a more comprehensive version of it, not only limited to switches.

Cheers
Ben

1 Like

Maintaining that will be hell, judging from the comments on that thread with all vendors that you mentioned.

1 Like

There would certainly be some big challenges to this. But I would totally enjoy using a site that did this - if it could be done reliably.

I wonder though- finding stuff in stock is already hard enough. Would this only make that worse? Or better?

Another consideration - what if venders and sellers take issue with having their products scraped? Or listed without their realizing it?

I think it’s a great idea, just offering some potential challenges that might need to be answered.

1 Like

Welcome!

That’s the best part! I get it though. On the bright side, the more time you put into the hobby the less this will be an issue. I ended up just buying spares of parts/tools I knew I’d need for future builds.