What do you program your function and navigation keys to do?

I finally got my Hidari built and now I have a full Numpad, and I need to do something with it, as I don’t really need a numpad (I just filled the numpad with keys for now). I bought the board more for the left side arrows, and wanting some navigation keys on the left hand side.

But, now that I have all these keys to work with I would love to hear about what people use their function keys and nav keys for. Any cool macros you have set up? I’m not even sure what is possible to be honest. I do know, that once I use the solder PCB I am going to go with a full 1u macropad setup.

Right now I definitely need “insert” as I use it in a mind mapping program I use. I also use page up and page down a bit. I am not a huge f-row user.

I do a ton of cutting and pasting for work so I was thinking of setting up dedicated keys for that. Though I am not even sure if that is possible as I am completely new to this.

Thanks for any ideas you share!

2 Likes

I like to use my arrow keys for media control on a second layer largely because I’ve had several other boards do this by default and I like being consistent.

I honestly think Media keys are my number one additional functionality.

This is the issue I have had when getting back into TKLs and boards with macro pads… when you actually sit down and have to think of what to use the extra keys, it is sometimes hard to come up with things.

Play/Pause, Skip forward, Skip back, Mute are good media keys. VolUp and VolDn are other good ones. I will say that I have all of these keys mapped to a layer largely under my home row, and I have built a muscle memory up there that I tend to use more.

More recently I experimented with dedicated copy and paste macros for the Mac. Along with dedicated undo and redo keys. They get some use, but honestly more often than not, I forget they are there.