What is your opinion on plate materials

What are your opinions on plate materials?
So far I have only used plastic plates but have a carbon fiber plate on the way.

I was wondering what the differences are and if I made a good enough choice

Tell me what plate you use on your board right now and which plate type you prefer!

1 Like

I prefer brass and carbon fiber. Aluminum is a safe all-rounder that’s middle of the road (never outstanding but never terrible). I’ve had some FR4 and thin polycarbonate plates that seemed lackluster. Dunno, maybe it was the case or mouting method that caused it. I’ve never had anything but success with brass. But, as you know, that is a personal preference.

3 Likes

aluminum is usually a pretty safe bet if you want something cheap but not terrible.

my personal favorite has to be brass aswell tough. i have no experience with carbon fibre plates, but i like my boards heavy and a hefty, thick brass plate adds some nice weight to the board.

1 Like

I would be curious to know as well. What about polycarbonate and stainless steel?