Which keycaps have the deepest dish or highest convexity

Hi guys

I know nothing about keyboards, and I know nothing about what keycaps are better than others, all I know is, I prefer DEEP dishes. I’m currently looking at buying either PGA profile or MT3 profile keycaps (links below), but I cannot decide (or read into) which has the absolut deepest dish.

I have been reading this thread over and over (pga-profile-keycaps/15432/43?page=2) but I still cant decide whether or not the PGA actually has a deeper (or lower) dish than the MT3, as I would like to come as close as possible to a Decision Data 8010 keypunch keycap set.

This is my first time ever to post anything on here, so in my opinion its a long shot, but I really hope some of you are able to help me out. Thank you in advance.

@rpiguy9907

My current options are:
pga-black-and-white-keycap-set-doubleshot-abs?variant=39740179906625

drop-biip-mt3-extended-custom-keycap-set?defaultSelectionIds=947139

1 Like

MT3 has a very small top surface area, and an extreme sculpt (or whatever you call the fact that it goes from low home row to very tall numbers and f-keys). So I always find myself bashing my fingers against the sharp edges around the dish.

PGA feels deeper to me, just because I’m hitting the sharp edge less often (because of the slightly larger top surface and less extreme sculpt). And I think PGA looks the most like your target.

You might also consider MG/AF-SA. These have a reasonably deep dish, but even larger tops (basically the same size as SA). I think it’s impossible to get MG at a reasonable price, but I recently got a bunch of nice quality AF-SA sets which have the same dishes on top of slightly shorter keys for very cheap off AliExpress.

3 Likes

Mechs & Co. is currently pre-selling a replica SA 8010 keycap set, set to ship sometime between July and 2023. But that’s SA, so not very scooped.