Work & Keebs

Hello all, I am fairly new to keebtalk and would like to say that I kind of dig it so far. Really like the aesthetic and community.

I just wanted to know/talk about various work stories regarding keyboards and having them in an office environment.

I’ll start:
Currently I just started at a company and have been notified that my Planck may pose a “security threat” so I cannot use it anymore.
Sad as though I may be it kinda spurred me to write this topic as I’ve never had this issue before and would like to know if anyone else has had this issue.

3 Likes

I was worried my keyboard would be a security threat due to QMK, but luckily when I brought it up to the equipment issuance team, I don’t think they grasped that a keyboard could contain software, and once I had the go ahead, I didn’t want to press my luck explaining it to them.

Yea apparently they didn’t know what parts were installed and they didn’t want to test said parts since that would take too much work so they just gave a flat no.

1 Like

I work for a large financial institution and have no issues using my keyboard in the office

I work somewhere where there is an extremely strict no tolerance policy regarding outside hardware. It sucks.

1 Like

I feel ya man, having to transition from using ortho with Tealios and using membrane staggered is making me die inside.

1 Like

Funny. I’ve been using my own keyboards at work, without issue, for a long as I can remember. Last week one of the sysadmins told me my keyboard is a security risk and I “shouldn’t” have it.

I figured it was just the standard paranoia/power trip and rolled my eyes at him. I’m not giving it up without a fight.

1 Like

in my company, there are others who use mechanical keyboards too, the OEM ones.
so when I brought my keeb in, I’m kinda… blend in.

do they explain “how” and what kind of threat that is?
your Planck don’t have wifi connector, able to process network information,… blah… blah… right?

right call,