Yo, I'm Eric

A little background about myself:
I’m an engineering student and I got into keyboards after my online friends (now irl friends) told me about the community. It’s been about 3 years since I bought my first switch tester and started down the rabbit hole.

I’ve been fortunate enough to become a community moderator for Massdrop/Drop. I might have spoken to some of you on there. I’m currently planning an Indiana mech keys meet up, so I’ll post an update after I do some more emailing and logistics.

8 Likes

Howdy Eric!

As a fellow meetup organizer, I wish you the best of luck with planning a meetup in Indiana! hopefully you can lean on Drop for support with that!

What’s your favorite switch and keyboard so far? :slight_smile:

1 Like

Favorite switch: I’ve tried a lot of switches, but typing on them a couple times and using them in a switch tester is completely different than daily driving a board with those switches. That being said, I like my Gateron Reds.

Favorite keyboard: I like this one because of the story. I found an old 122 key Model M during a summer internship and I cleaned it up and gave it to a friend.

1 Like

Welcome to the community!

What keyboard’s on your desk right now?

Have you tried red inks? I’ve founds them to be very good

1 Like

On my desk at my apartment is a Magicforce 49 key with lubed Gateron Reds and Whitefox PBT keycaps.
My office desk has an Acer 6311 that I found at a junkyard/recycling center.

I have not tried any of the ink switches or silent ink switches.
I have a Whitefox waiting for me. Still need to finalize what switches I want on that board. I’m thinking something red or pink to match the keycaps I’m getting

1 Like

Welcome to the community! Nice name. What specific type of engineering are you studying?

Just out of curiosity, do you get anything out of that? A lot of the ‘community moderator’ sort of things I’ve seen seem like companies trying to get people to work for them for free.