Your custom keyboard is probably illegal - a long post on radio interference testing regulations and keyboards

This has been something I’ve been looking into over the course of designing my 120% keyboard, and something that I’m generally pretty concerned about for the keyboard community. I’ve brought this up in various Discord servers at various times, but would like to write a longform post about this.

Disclaimer - I am not a lawyer, and this is not legal advice. I am not an expert in this field - this is merely a summary of my research, and there may be inaccuracies.

TL;DR

• Digital devices such as keyboards can generate unintended radio interference
  • Government agencies (such as the FCC in the US) regulate the airwaves, and generally require consumer electronics products to be tested before they can be built, sold,or operated, to ensure that they don’t exceed legal limits for unintended radio interference, and don’t cause issues for other devices that use our airwaves.
  • These tests require very expensive calibrated equipment, and have to be done at a testing lab
  • A test can run north of $2,000 for a given design for a given jurisdiction
  • Most custom keyboards out there do not perform these tests, and are potentially illegal to either sell, build, or operate as a result
  • The fact that custom keebs are built from kits does not seem to help much:
    • In the US - although whether designers and vendors can sell kits without testing is a gray area, current regulations make it illegal for end users to build and operate an untested design from a kit, or to resell it
    • EU does not appear to exempt kits at all
    • I have not looked into other jurisdictions
  • There’s an exemption for DIY projects in the US (and likely the EU), but keyboards built from kits are not exempt, and it appears to be illegal to sell untested keebs built as DIY projects